Home » Music

The City of Iron Gets Ready to Melt!

[ 6 July 2015 | Print This Post ]
6 July 2015

By Gemma Brosnan

PERCHED on the peninsula that juts out into the middle of the Gremminer Lake, Melt! Festival 2015 is set to bring the City of Iron to life again on July 17 with three days of pure musical euphoria.

Hot newcomers and international heroes grace the stages below the breathtaking coal mining diggers of days gone by, hosting hedonistic gigs and parties breaking the boundaries between quiet and loud, indie and electro, mainstream and subculture.

Starting out as a small stronghold for rave lovers and techno enthusiasts at the quaint Bernsteinsee Velten in 1997, Melt! relocated to Lärz Airport in 1998 until it put Ferropolis on the map in 2000 and became a major force on the international festival circuit.

Completing the line-up this year are Santigold, Marcel Dettmann, Tove Lo, Alle Farben, Darwin Deez, The Orb, Wyoming, Mama, Pete Tong, Hot Since 82, DJ Tennis, The Black Madonna, Dasha Rush (live), Matrixxman, Roi Perez and Dekmantel Soundsystem.

They join Alt-J, Kylie, London Grammar, Roisin Murphy, Purity Ring, Ibeyi, Joy Wellboy, Logic, Flume, Jon Hopkins, Kwabs, Sven Vath, Giorgio Moroder, Modeselektor, Bonobo (DJ set), Clark, Autechre, Nozinja, Dark Sky, Sophie, The Bug, Dorian Concept , SiriusModeselektor, Alan Fitzpatrick, Cakes da Killa, Cashmere Cat, Chris Liebing, Claptone, David August, Element of Crime, Ellen Allien, Erland Oye (Kings of Convenience), Evian Christ, Howling, La Roux, Marek Hemmann, Markus Kavka, Mathias Kaden, Nils Frahm, Nina Kraviz, Rodhad, Roni Size Reprazent, Seinabo Sey, Shura, Tocotronic, TUSN, Von Spar, Mogwai, Ride, Trevor Horn Band, Hercules And Love Affair, Hudson Mohawke, Jamie T, Jamie XX, Django Django, Years And Years, Young Fathers, Toro Y Moi, Kaytranada, A-Trak, AnnenMayKantereit, Aquilo, Audion, L’Aupaire, Aurora Aksnes, Bilderbuch, Borrowed Identity, Catfish & The Bottlemen, Culoe De Song, Damian Lazarus & The Ancient Moon, The Districts, Fickle Friends, Formation, Gengahr, Gorgon City (DJ-Set), Job Jobse, Joy Wellboy, Kink, Lawrence, Malky, Max Graef, Die Nerven, Odesza, Pollyester, Romano, Soul Clap, Tiefschwarz, Wanda, Zenker Brothers, and xxxy.

The doors open at 3pm every day with performances beginning at around 5pm and going on through the night, with the Sunday headliner expected to end just after 11pm. The Sleepless Floor stays open from the moment the festival opens until the very end.

For more information and tickets go to MELT!

Photo Credit: Robert Winter


© 2010- Unshredded.net All Rights Reserved