Home » Words

Man Booker Prize announces International Longlist

[ 30 July 2014 | Print This Post ]
30 July 2014

For the first time in its 46-year history, the £50,000 prize has been opened up to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the UK. Previously, the prize was only open to authors from the UK & Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe.

First awarded in 1969, the Man Booker prize is recognised as the touchstone for high quality literary fiction (written in English). Its canon contains many of the literary trailblazers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries: from Salman Rushdie to Hilary Mantel, Iris Murdoch to Peter Carey.

The rules of the prize changed at the end of last year to embrace ‘the freedom of English in all its vigour, its vitality, its versatility and its glory wherever it may be’.

154 books were entered for this year’s prize by UK publishers, of which 44 titles were by authors who have entered for the first time under the new rule changes. Commonwealth submissions totalled 31 for this year, as compared with 43 in 2013.

Chair of the 2014 judges, AC Grayling, said: ‘This is a diverse list of ambition, experiment, humour and artistry. The novels selected are full of wonderful stories and fascinating characters.”

The shortlist of six books will be announced on Tuesday 9 September. The shortlisted authors each receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book.

On winning the Man Booker Prize, the author will receive a further £50,000 and the overnight fame and international recognition that comes with it. The judges for this year’s prize are Sarah Churchwell, Daniel Glaser, Jonathan Bate, Alastair Niven and Erica Wagner under the chairmanship of Anthony Grayling.

The 2014 longlist, or Man Booker ‘Dozen’, of 13 novels, is:

Joshua Ferris – To Rise Again at a Decent Hour
Richard Flanagan – The Narrow Road to the Deep North
Karen Joy Fowler – We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves
Siri Hustvedt – The Blazing World
Howard Jacobson- J
Paul Kingsnorth – The Wake (Crowdfunded publisher)
David Mitchell – The Bone Clocks
Neel Mukherjee – The Lives of Others
David Nicholls – Us
Joseph O’Neill – The Dog
Richard Powers – Orfeo
Ali Smith – How to be Both
Niall Williams – History of the Rain

Eleanor Catton won the 2013 Man Booker Prize for Fiction with The Luminaries. To date it has sold 300,000 copies in the UK and almost 500,000 worldwide.


© 2010- Unshredded.net All Rights Reserved